About the Trust

Who runs the ESBPT?

The East Suffolk Building Preservation Trust was established on December 8th 2010 as a registered company (no. 7464335).  The Trust became a Registered Charity on 10th May 2011 (no.1141809).

Its objects include to preserve for the benefit of the people of East Suffolk and of the Nation, the historical, architectural and constructional heritage that may exist in and around East Suffolk in buildings (including any structure or erection, and any part of a building as so defined) of particular beauty or historical, architectural or constructional interest. 

  • Chairman
  • Paul Bradley
  • Secretary
  • Richard Perkins
  • Treasurer
  • Edwin Taylor
  • Trustees
  • Ezra Leverett 
  • John Putman
  • Andrew Derrick

  • Volunteers
  • Brian Johnson
  • Chris Chestnutt
  • Lucy Mobbs
  • Argus Hardy
  • Brian Morton

The Trust’s registered office is at The Barn, 2 Gunton Church Lane, Lowestoft, Suffolk NR32 4LE.

The geographical area of the Trust includes the Waveney and Suffolk Coastal Districts.

All those involved with the Trust are volunteers and come from a variety of backgrounds (surveyors, architectural historians, members of local civic societies, architects, site managers). They also cover the different geographical areas of the two Districts: from Lowestoft to Felixstowe.

The Trust meets around every three months.

The Trust is a member of the Heritage Trust Network and has received the direct support of the Architectural Heritage Fund, Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council. 

The Conservation Officers of both Waveney and Suffolk Coastal District Councils act as Technical Advisers to the Trust.

Local support: The Trust has received expressions of support for its activities from the Felixstowe, Woodbridge and Aldeburgh Societies; and also the Beccles, Bungay, Halesworth and Southwold Societies.


Latest Tweet